PluriCourts Annual Conference 2019

The theme for this year's conference is present and future research related to the research topics.




Thursday 27 June

09.00 - 09.30                              

WelcomeSiri Johnsen, Geir Ulfstein and Andreas Føllesdal

Short presentation of the members of the Scientific Advisory Committee

09.30 – 10.00 

Presentation of the Program - Andreas Føllesdal 

All PluriCourts researchers will give a 10 minutes presentation of their present or future research related to one of the research topics.

10.00 - 10.30

Session I - RT1 Legitimacy standards 

Chair: TBD


Antoinette Scherz  

Erik Røsæg  

10.30 – 11.00 Coffee break
11.00- 11.55 

Session I - RT1 Legitimacy standards continues


Laura Fischer  

Andreas Føllesdal 

11.55 – 12.25 

Session II – RT2 Multilevel separation of authority 

Chair: TBD 


Reto Walther  

Martin Westergren  

12.25 – 13.15  Lunch
13.15 - 13.55 

Session II – RT2 Multilevel separation of authority continues


Geir Ulfstein: Deference by international courts and tribunals 

13.55– 14.25 

Session III – RT3 Independence and Accountability  

Chair: TBD 


Emma BrandonHolding Signatories to Account: State Obligations Upon Signing a Treaty Granting Jurisdiction to an International Criminal or Human Rights Tribunal 

Øyvind Stiansen  

14.25 – 14.45 Coffee break
14.45 – 15.25                               

Session III – RT3 Independence and Accountability continues


Daniel Naurin  

Julie Crutchley: Transmodernity and Victim Participation: Enhancing Legitimacy within International Criminal Law

After the third session we will walk to Litteraturhuset, where Laurence R. Helfer will give this year's PluriCourts Annual Lecture titled “The life Cycle of International Adjudication”.

  Friday 28 June                                                                                 
09.00 – 10.10         

Session V – RT4 Performance 

Chair: TBD 


Mikael Holmgren  

Silje HermansenTending the Bar: Appointments and Case Allocations in the Court of Justice of the EU 

Laura Létourneau-Tremblay  

10.10 – 10.30 Coffee break
10.30 - 11.00

Session VI– RT5 Comparative Advantages 

Chair: TBD 


Nicola Strain

Freya BaetensState consent to the jurisdiction of the International Court of Justice: modify or perish  

11.00 - 12.00 Lunch
12.00 - 12.30 

Session VI– RT5 Comparative Advantages continues 


Runar Lie  

12.30 - 13:40 

Session VII – RT6 – Best practices and models 

Chair: TBD 


Rosa Manzo 

Malcolm Langford

Tarald Berge 

13.40 – 14:00

Comments from members of the Scientific Advisory Board

Closing remarks  

Registration (deadline 21 June)



Published Oct. 2, 2018 2:37 PM - Last modified June 14, 2019 1:55 PM