PluriCourts Annual Conference

29-30 June, PluriCourts will hold its Annual Conference in Professorboligen at the Faculty of Law


PluriCourts Annual Conference and Lecture

29 – 30 June and 1 July 2022

Venue: Professorboligen, University Garden

Wednesday 29 June

13.00 – 13.15

Welcome and presentation of the program

Main focus: looking forward – current and new projects

Andreas Føllesdal and Geir Ulfstein

13.15 – 14.00

Presentation of ongoing PhD projects:

Runar Hilleren Lie and Laura Letourneau-Tremblay

14.00 – 14.15


14.15 – 15.30

Can international law save democracy?

On the basis of Democracies and International Law (CUP 2021)
Tom Ginsburg

Enforcing the Rule of Law: What can the EU do to prevent rule of law deterioration from within? (ENROL)
Daniel Naurin


15.30 – 15.45


15.45 – 16.45

Closed meeting between the Scientific Advisory Committee and the PhDs postdocs and researchers of PluriCourts.

16.45 – 17.30

Scientific staff - talks with the Scientific Advisory Committee members

If desired, individual members of the scientific staff have the opportunity to talk with members of the Scientific Advisory Committee. Please contact Even to set up an appointment.

18.30 – 20.00

Dinner at Litteraturhuset for all participants at the conference


Thursday 30 June

9.00 – 09.45

Compliance Politics and International Investment Disputes (COPIID)

Malcolm Langford and Taylor St John





Compliance with and Effectiveness of ICT Decisions – Comparative Perspectives

General discussion based on questions prepared by Ole Kristian Fauchald.




State Consent

Freya Baetens



Lunch in Professorboligen


Deference by ICs

Geir Ulfstein


13.15 – 13.45

Scientific Advisory Committee will comment on the different presentations in the program

13.45 – 14.15

Closing remarks

14.15 – 15.30

Closed meeting between the Scientific Advisory Committee and PluriCourts Directors and Administrative Manager.

18.30 – 20.30

Dinner at Park29 for members of the Scientific Advisory Committee members, PluriCourts Coordinators and Directors.


Published June 3, 2022 2:14 PM - Last modified June 10, 2022 11:26 AM