Norwegian version of this page

The Labour Law Group

The Labour Law Group is the research group in labour law and working life at the Faculty of Law at the University of Oslo. Host institute is the Department of Private Law. At present the Labour Law Group has about twenty researchers as members from universities and university colleges in Norway.


One of the most important tasks for the group is to promote research and education in labour law. The activities in the Labour Law Group focus on conducting and facilitating research within labour law. Furthermore, the task for the group is to ensure that academic skills on a high level will be maintained. This is important to satisfy the professional and societal needs of knowledge and competence in labour law and the legislation and institutions on industrial relations.

Additionally, the Labour Law Group organises a national network for teachers in labour law, the National Network for Labour law Teaching. The purpose with this network is to exchange information and experiences in teaching-related matters.

The academic responsibility for labour law is placed within the Department of Private Law. The Labour law Group deputy leader, Professor Dr Johann Mulder, is the academic responsible teacher. Two courses in labour law are taught in the Norwegian language at both bachelor and master level: Labour law – the individual part, and Labour law – the collective part. One master course is taught in the English language: European Labour Law. Part and parcel of the responsibility for the education is the supervision of students researching and writing their master degree thesis.

For further information, see the Norwegian web pages.



Tags: labour rights
Published Mar. 21, 2017 11:19 AM - Last modified Sep. 6, 2018 2:59 PM


Research Group ledership

Postdoctoral fellow Marianne Jenum Hotvedt (head of the group)

Professor Bernard Johann Mulder (deputy head of the group)


Administrative Manager Bodil Silset

Hosting department

Department of Private Law

Web editor: Mona Østvang Ådum